Cutting my Festy's springs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cutting my Festy's springs

Had some new 2001 Rio front KYBs I've been wanting to stick on the Festy, and now it's warm enough to work in the garage again, so I went for it today. I'm new to suspension tinkering, so bear with my ignorance.

Rio KYB shaft thickness = .792".....Festiva KYB shaft thickness = .707". The idea here was to find a strut with better dampening.
    Original ride height with my tires was 23 7/8", measured from the ground to the fender arch.
    Put 'em on with the Rio springs; ride height was 26".
    Put 'em on with the stock Festy springs (which are taller than the Rio ones); ride height was also 26"
    Cut the Festy springs (cutoff wheel, ~10 seconds per spring) by two coils; too much! Ride height was only 23" after a short drive to settle the springs. Also, the ride was terrible over little bumps and depressions like for manholes. Not sure what the spring rate is now with them cut. The Rio struts should be better at dampening, but apparently not enough to make up for the springs.

I have two sets of front Aspire ~110-lb springs and also a set of the Rio 175-lb springs. Thinking of cutting the Aspire ones maybe 1 coil, then 1.5 if needed to get the ride height back to 23 7/8" or 24". Maybe fool with the Rio springs. Any thoughts?

Not doing anything with the rears right now. I have ordered various metal and rubber spacers to fit between the rear coils, just to experiment.

This was all very much easier to do with my cordless impact wrench on the spring compressors. Saves lots of time, and the lower back.
    I used the cordless impact on the center nut to remove the springs too. Strut on the ground, bottom of the strut against the wall, and held on to the top hat with one hand to dampen how far the parts went when the nut came off. Put a couple of boxes in front of the top of the strut to capture the parts (mainly the nut). Worked great, and no damage to me.