Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do you tell what degree you are at as far as timing goes...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you tell what degree you are at as far as timing goes...

..I see guys post that they are running at 11 degrees or 14. How do you know that? When I set my timing I just try to get the marks lined up, how do you see what degree your at while setting timing? I'm new to this timing stuff. Thanks, Jim

Its called "Base Timing",you need a timing light and you ground one wire.Its explained in a manual,if you really want learn.I would suggest you pick one up and study.There are pictures in the book its really easy to learn.
    Some people like to read fiction,I prefer to read repair manuals. Weird I know-
    Henry Ford: "Failure is the opportunity to begin again more intelligently"
    Fuseable Link Distribution Block repair link

Comment

Originally posted by nitrofarm View Post
      Its called "Base Timing",you need a timing light and you ground one wire.Its explained in a manual,if you really want learn.I would suggest you pick one up and study.There are pictures in the book its really easy to learn.
      I do have a timing light and I did do what you say and I do have the manual. I do like green eggs and ham... I followed the manual on how to set the timing but all it shows is where you line things up not what degree timing your at except at 10 when your lined up.

Comment

Originally posted by jimdigs View Post
        I do have a timing light and I did do what you say and I do have the manual. I do like green eggs and ham... I followed the manual on how to set the timing but all it shows is where you line things up not what degree timing your at except at 10 when your lined up.